245 Chesapeake Avenue
Newport News, VA 23607
(757) 534-5000
Fax: (757) 928-8271
Map & Directions >

About Us

Our Leadership

Our Hospital administrator, medical director and director of clinical services manage the day-to-day operations of Hampton Roads Specialty Hospital. The overall leadership and guidance comes from a voluntary Board of Managers, comprised of community leaders.

Courtney Detwiler – Administrator
Courtney Detwiler, RN, joins Hampton Roads Specialty Hospital with a strong clinical background and several years of experiences as a staff registered nurse (RN), Director of Nursing and Hospital Administrator. Her previous experience in long term acute care provides the leadership needed to successfully operate Hampton Roads Specialty Hospital. Her telephone number is (757) 928-8261.

Phillip Dennis, MD – Chief Medical Officer
Dr. Phillip Dennis is board-certified by the American Board of Pulmonologists. Dr. Dennis also has a private practice. His telephone number at Hampton Roads Specialty Hospital is (757) 534-5000 option 3.

Robert Orlino, MD – Chief Clinical Officer
Dr. Robert Orlino is board certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine and American Board of Pulmonologists. Dr. Orlino also has active staff privileges at Riverside Regional Medical Center. His telephone number is (757) 928-8320.

Board of Managers

Sr. Bernard Marie Magill
Director of Pastoral Services
Mary Immaculate Hospital

Vice Chairman
Don Wilson
Peninsula EMS Council

Susan Murray, MSNB, RN, ANP
Lecturer, School of Nursing
Old Dominion University

Hugh Barlow, CPA
Dixon Hughest Goodman Company, LLP

Michael Martin
Senior Vice President
Lifelong Health and Aging Related Service
Riverside Health System

Phillip Dennis, MD